Both Worlds

Today’s Topic: How amazing I am. 

Not to brag or anything. But, I pretty much am. Haha. Wait. I am. 

boratSo, I’m talking to one of my many co-workers, colleagues, cohorts, whatever at ACORN and she starts name dropping. She says, “Ashley, I’m on National Conference calls all the time. And so and so and this and that always talk about you. They say that Texas is doing so much better now that they have you. I’m so afraid that they’re going to take you away from us. It’s nice to have someone who understands both worlds.” 

Understands both worlds? I understand the world of non-profits and the world of fashion. Or at least I try to. Lo que sea amigos. I just try my best.  I go to work everyday, I turn on the computer, turn up the volumn on my music, and start answering e-mails. And I tweet. And I facebook, and I check message boards. When i get home I write one or two blog entries. And I repeat. That’s all there is to it. Nothing too serious.

So, here’s the deal. Just be yourself.  Just do what you think is the best. Whether it’s helping people, or just letting things happen, things will be alright. In the immortal words of Mylie Cyrus: 

 

There’s always going to be another mountain.

I’m always gonna want to make it move.

There’s always going to be an uphill battle.

There’s always going to be another battle.

Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose.  

 

And that’s how I see it. I may have not gotten to this point as quickly as I wanted to, I may still be living with my parents, I may have to defer my student loans until I’m 50, but you know what? I’m happy. 

Until the next time I write…hopefully soon….

 

–Ashley

No comments yet

Leave a comment