Don’t Mean Nothing To Me

Don’t Mean Nothing to Me. That’s the title of a song by the Tinted Windows. And that’s how I feel about my current position as unemployed. I know that I will find my way and I know things will be okay.

I know, I know. I am a horrible blogger. I’m pretty sure I don’t have an avid readership. And I haven’t updated in months. But, but, but…I will try my hardest to try!

The last time I wrote things were fabulous. I was following my dream, living it, serving, and being it. Today, however, things are different. And I will not rehash what can easily be read on BigGovernment.com or MediaMatters.org.  All that is necessary to know is that, much like many other non-profit positions, the money is no longer there and the grant is gone.  I mentioned in The Non-Profit Passion entry that my position was a temporary position, and indeed…it was.  The NeighborWorks grant contract was through March 2010, however, based on current events and occurrences, the grant was voided and now my position isn’t necessary.

At the present moment, I am taking my skills (you know those qualifications you put at the top of your resume…Microsoft Office, communication skills, reliable, adaptable, etc) and trying to find another great and rewarding position. Whether those skills lead me towards writing, development, outreach, policy, or case management is an unknown. It’s scary and well, just scary.

But, the things I have learned in the last year and a half with the previous organization has taught me so much.   I’ve learned how to communicate with so many different people. I’ve learned when to say that I’ve done something wrong and to fix it….and when to just fix it without pointing out that I’ve made an error. I’ve learned to be an Excel wizard. I’ve learned that working on the fly is sometimes the best medicine, but other times a plan is what is necessary to get things done. I’ve also learned to keep my eye out for myself.

Keep an eye out on yourself. Be prepared for the worst, but hope for the best. And that’s where I’m at now. While the purpose of what I am here for is service and others, there comes a time and place where I am at now. There were so many times that I heard people say, “Well do what is best for you,” in regard to looking for jobs and just generally being kind of nasty in the office. However, at this point, I really do need to be on the lookout for myself. The day BigGovernment.com broke the first video tape I was appalled. I was shocked. And, that’s when I hit the ground running. That was mid September. By the first of October I had my first job interview. The company wasn’t what I was looking for and I wasn’t what they were looking for, but nonetheless, I was looking out for myself. And now, a month and a half after the hunt started things are looking good. Fingers are crossed that hopefully I’ll just “unemployed” for a week.

I’m also smiling, I’m hopeful, and prayful because being unemployed don’t mean nothing to me right now….I know it won’t last long. And I know things are going to be alright.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

